Avenged Sevenfold: The Stage-2016.

Avenged Sevenfold is known for its diverse rock sound and dramatic imagery in album covers and merchandise.[1] The band emerged with a metalcore sound on their debut album Sounding the Seventh Trumpet and continued this sound through their second album Waking the Fallen. However, the band’s style had evolved by the group’s third album and first major label release, City of Evil, into a heavy metal and hard rock style. The band continued to explore new sounds with its self-titled release and enjoyed continued mainstream success before their drummer, James “The Rev” Sullivan, died in 2009. Despite his death, Avenged Sevenfold continued on with the help of drummer Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater), and released and toured in support of their fifth album Nightmare in 2010, which debuted on the top spot of the Billboard 200, their first number one debut.[2]

In 2011 drummer Arin Ilejay joined the band on tours and recording. The band’s sixth studio album Hail to the King, which was released in 2013, marked the only Avenged Sevenfold album featuring Arin Ilejay. Hail to the King charted as number 1 on the Billboard 200, the UK Albums chart, as well as the Finnish, Brazilian, Canadian, and Irish charts. In late 2014, Ilejay left the band, and was replaced by former Bad Religion drummer Brooks Wackerman, but the lineup change wasn’t announced to the public until 2015. The band then surprise-released their seventh studio album titled The Stage on October 28, 2016, which debuted as number 4 on the Billboard 200 chart in the US. The Stage is their first conceptual album and it marked another stylistic change for the band, moving towards the progressive metal sound.

To date, Avenged Sevenfold has released seven studio albums, one live album/DVD, two compilation albums and eighteen singles and have sold over 8 million albums worldwide.[3] They have also released an original song for each game in the Call of Duty: Black Ops series, all of which were compiled together in the 2018 EP Black Reign. The band were ranked No. 47 on Loudwire‘s list of Top 50 Metal Bands of All Time.[4]

The American heavy metal band Avenged Sevenfold has released seven studio albums, one soundtrack album, one live album, two compilation albums, 31 singles, two video albums and 26 music videos. Formed in Huntington Beach, California in 1999, the band originally featured vocalist M. Shadows (Matthew Sanders), guitarist Zacky Vengeance (Zachary Baker), bassist Matt Wendt and drummer The Rev (James Sullivan). Synyster Gates (Brian Haner Jr.) joined as lead guitarist in 2001, just after the group released its debut album Sounding the Seventh Trumpet on Good Life Recordings, which was later reissued on Hopeless Records.[1]

Avenged Sevenfold discography
Avenged Sevenfold in 2014
Studio albums7
Live albums1
Compilation albums2
Video albums2
Music videos26
Soundtrack albums1

After replacing Wendt with Justin Sane and later Dameon Ash, Avenged Sevenfold settled on Johnny Christ (Jonathan Seward) on bass in 2003 to record Waking the Fallen. The album was the band’s first to chart in the US, reaching the top ten of the Billboard 200.[2] It was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA).[3] The 2005 follow-up City of Evil reached only number 30 on the chart,[2] but was certified platinum by the RIAA.[3] The single “Bat Country” reached the top ten of the US Billboard Alternative Songs and Mainstream Rock charts,[4][5] while “Beast and the Harlot” topped the UK Rock & Metal Singles Chart.[6]

In 2007 the band released its self-titled fourth album, which was the first to reach the top five of the Billboard 200 when it peaked at number 4.[2] The All Excess video, released earlier in the year, topped the Billboard Music Video Sales chart and reached number 2 on the UK Music Video Chart.[7][8] Avenged Sevenfold was the band’s final full release to feature The Rev, who died of an accidental overdose of prescription drugs and alcohol on December 28, 2009, while they were producing their next album Nightmare.[9] Mike Portnoy performed drums on 2010s Nightmare,[10] which topped the Billboard 200 for the first time in the band’s career.[2] Lead single “Nightmare” topped the Billboard Heatseekers Songs chart,[11] while third single “So Far Away” became the band’s first to top the Mainstream Rock chart.[5] 2011’s “Not Ready to Die” topped the UK Rock & Metal Singles Chart.[6]

Arin Ilejay joined as The Rev’s second replacement in 2013, performing on the band’s sixth studio album Hail to the King.[12] The album followed Nightmare by topping the Billboard 200,[2] as well as being the group’s first release to reach number 1 on the Canadian and UK Albums Charts.[13][14] “Hail to the King” and “Shepherd of Fire” both topped the Mainstream Rock chart.[5] Brooks Wackerman replaced Ilejay in 2015, and the following year the band released The Stage without any prior announcement.[15] The album reached number 4 on the Billboard 200 and topped the Canadian Albums Chart.[2][13] Since 2017, the band has been adding to The Stage as part of an “evolving track listing”, including cover versions of “God Only Knows” by The Beach Boys, “As Tears Go By” by The Rolling Stones and “Wish You Were Here” by Pink Floyd.[16]

Avenged Sevenfold released Live at the Grammy Museum on December 8, 2017, documenting the group’s first acoustic performance at the Grammy Museum in October.[17]

Studio albums:

TitleAlbum detailsPeak chart positionsSalesCertifications
Sounding the Seventh TrumpetReleased: July 24, 2001Label: Good LifeFormats: CD, LP176
Waking the FallenReleased: August 26, 2003Label: HopelessFormats: CD, LP10
RIAA: Platinum[3]BPI: Silver[25]MC: Gold[26]
City of EvilReleased: June 6, 2005Label: Warner Bros.Formats: CD, LP301663US: 1,500,000[27]RIAA: Platinum[3]BPI: Gold[25]MC: Gold[26]
Avenged SevenfoldReleased: October 30, 2007Label: Warner Bros.Formats: CD, LP, CD+DVD4376411224US: 1,100,000[27]RIAA: Gold[3]BPI: Gold[25]
NightmareReleased: July 27, 2010Label: Warner Bros.Formats: CD, LP, DL192191214295US: 500,000[27]RIAA: Gold[3]BPI: Gold[25]MC: Platinum[26]
Hail to the KingReleased: August 27, 2013Label: Warner Bros.Formats: CD, LP, DL12111153341US: 705,901[27]RIAA: Gold[3]BPI: Gold[25]MC: Platinum[26]
The StageReleased: October 28, 2016Label: CapitolFormats: CD, LP, DL44110164216

M. Shadows

Zacky Vengeance
Synyster Gates
Johnny Christ
Brooks Wackerman

Past Members:

  • Matt Wendt
  • Justin Sane
  • Dameon Ash
  • The Rev
  • Arin Ilejay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s