Soen: Imperial-2021.

SOEN are a multi-national group, formed initially by Martin LOPEZ (drums, ex-OPETH, AMON AMARTH) and Kim PLATBARZDIS (guitars) in 2004 but did not see the light of day until 2010 when Joel EKELÖF (vocals, ex-WILLOWTREE) and Steve DIGIORGIO (SADUS, TESTAMENT, ex-DEATH, ICED EARTH) joined. The debut album ”Cognitive” was released via Spinefarm records in February 2012, mixed by David Bottrill (TOOL, COHEED AND CAMBRIA, MUSE etc.) and mastered by João Carvalho, showing distinct similarities to TOOL. The sophomore album ”Tellurian” came in November 2014 again via Spinefarm Records, while Stefan EFENBERG has taken the bassist position. ”Tellurian” shows a wider range of influences, experimentation and develops significantly on the alternative rock/metal style of the debut with notable influences from OPETH. The band embark on a European tour in 2015.

In February 2017, SOEN release their third album, ”Lykaia” which sees the band returning to a more alternative metal vibe and somewhat mixing the sound of the two first releases. A European tour is planned for March and April 2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s